Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Division of Academic Affairs

Grants and Research Advisory Board (GRAB)

GRAB Accepted Recommendations

  1. Each Dean will work with the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs to develop a plan for their school and college, with goals for increasing grant and contract activity and indirect cost recovery.
  2. Each Dean will develop a college/school policy on the internal distribution of indirect cost recovery that is dedicated to expanding future grant and contract activity.
  3. The Associate VP for Research will work with Deans to develop the aforementioned plans and to augment initial job offers with funding to assist in establishing new faculty research agendas.
  4. The members of GRAB will produce a new Principal Investigators' Handbook and distribute it widely.
  5. The members of GRAB will offer School/College meetings on grant and contract activity again in 2006-2007.
  6. GRAB will consider organizing a conference in spring 2006 on grant and contract opportunities and invite granting agencies to attend/convene breakout sessions.
  7. TILT/CSALT will host three to four Brown Bag Discussions on "How I Got the Grant" to be offered by successful PIs.
  8. The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs will add another grants administrator to address volume of applications and to allow the Associate Vice President time to pursue new grant and research activity.
  9. GRAB will analyze post award practices to ensure that 100% of funding for grants received are expended.

Membership List


Lynnette Zelezny
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs 

Deborah Adishian-Astone
Vice President for Administration and Associate Vice President for Auxiliary Services

Thomas McClanahan, Associate Vice President for Research & Sponsored Programs
8-0840; OF 123

James Marshall, Dean
Division of Research and Graduate Studies

Dennis Nef, Vice Provost
Office of the Vice Provost
Haak Center, Library 4th

Keith Kompsi, Director
Foundation Financial Services 

Two Academic Deans 

Mechel Paggi, Associate Dean
Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences & Technology

Andrew Lawson, Interim Dean
College of Science and Mathematics

Two Faculty Members (Appointed by Senate)

Qiao-Hong Chen
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
College of Science and Mathematics

Bhupinder Singh, Assistant Professor,
Department of Physical Therapy

One Member from Student Affairs


Two Faculty Members (Appointed by Provost)

Andrew Fiala, Professor and Chair
Department of Philosophy

Mamta Rawat, Professor
Department of Biology

One At-Large Member

Emil Milevoj, Director
University Business Center

Support Staff

Doug Carey (Minutes), Grants Administrator                               
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (Scheduling)
8-0840; MS OF123

top of page