Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Division of Academic Affairs

Provost Awards

Provost's Award for Excellence Seal

The Provost Awards were established in 1993 because outstanding teaching, research and service are central to the mission of Fresno State and because the dedication of our professorial faculty deserves special recognition.  Recipients of the Provost Awards provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the university as the intellectual and cultural leader of the San Joaquin Valley. The purpose of the Provost Awards is to honor those faculty members who set new standards of excellence and represent the heart of this great university.

Provost Awards Recipients 2021-2022

Excellence in Teaching

Annette Levi - Professor, Agricultural Business

Research, Scholarship or Creative Accomplishment 

Steve Blumenshine - Professor, Biology

Faculty Service

Amila Becirbegovic - Assistant Professor, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Promising New Faculty

Luis Fernando Macias - Assistant Professor, Chicano and Latin American Studies

Kimberly Stillmaker - Assistant Professor, Civil and Geomatics Engineering

Mai Der Vang - Assistant Professor, English

Ettore Vitali - Assistant Professor, Physics

Varaxy Yi Borromeo, Assistant Professor - Educational Leadership

Outstanding Lecturer

Mark Baldis, Department of Kinesiology

Janine Nkosi, Department of Sociology


Fresno State faculty and staff are invited to attend a celebration of the distinguished achievements of our colleagues on Thursday, May 12, 2022, at 3 p.m. (More information will be forthcoming.)