Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Division of Academic Affairs

Provost Awards

Provost's Award for Excellence Seal

The Provost Awards were established in 1993 because outstanding teaching, research and service are central to the mission of Fresno State and because the dedication of our professorial faculty deserves special recognition.  Recipients of the Provost Awards provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the university as the intellectual and cultural leader of the San Joaquin Valley. The purpose of the Provost Awards is to honor those faculty members who set new standards of excellence and represent the heart of this great university.

2022-2023 – Provost’s Awards Recipients

Excellence in Teaching 
Tamás Forgács, Professor – Department of Mathematics

Faculty Service 
Robert Maldonado, Professor – Department of Philosophy 
Larissa Mercado-López, Professor – Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Distinguished Achievement in Research, Scholarship or Creative Accomplishment 
Pei Xu, Professor – Department of Agricultural Business

Promising New Faculty 
Brynn Saito, Assistant Professor – Department of English 
Shahab Tayeb, Assistant Professor – Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering 
Marcus Crawford, Assistant Professor – Department of Social Work Education 
Ellen Woo, Assistant Professor – Department of Psychology 
Carmen Licon-Cano, Assistant Professor – Department of Food Science and Nutrition

Outstanding Lecturer 
Michele Randel, Department of Construction Management